A-Z of foods containing gluten

Often those just starting out on a gluten free diet will know to look out for ‘wheat’ on packaging, when in fact there are several different grains and starches that contain gluten and need to be avoided. This includes barley and rye which are often overlooked but commonly found in prepared foods.

One of the main categories of food that has to be approached with serious caution is baked goods. Most ready-made baked treats will have been produced using wheat flour or other offending flours and cannot be consumed by anyone with coeliac disease or non-coeliac gluten sensitivity. This was our motivation for creating the Lovemore range of cakes, biscuits, pies and more!

It’s important to always check the ingredients list on any food you buy, and to ask questions when ordering in a restaurant, as sometimes even the most unlikely of items can surprise you and cause a reaction.

It can also be difficult to know how to safely cater for a friend or relative that suffers from Coeliac disease or who is on a gluten free diet. To help these people and those living with CD (or choosing a gluten free diet) to  identify some of the most easily overlooked gluten containing foods we have created this easy A-Z list. Most of these items can be placed into one of the following categories: Grains & Starches, Drink, Processed Meat, Baked Goods, Sauces & Syrups and Snacks.

This is a detailed list, but it is always safest to check before taking the risk.

Do you know of someone that could benefit from this list? Why not share it on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram?

 

A

Alcohol

Spirits like gin, vodka and whiskey are generally considered gluten free, but some people will still experience a reaction even if the drink has been distilled from gluten grains. To be extra safe you can opt for alcohol with non-gluten sources.

 

B

Bacon (Imitation)

See vegetarian meats.

 

Baked beans

Some brands are gluten free, but others will contain gluten as part of the tomato sauce.

 

Barbeque sauce

In some store bought versions you may find ingredients like barley-based beer, vinegar derived from gluten grains, soy sauce or bourbon.

 

Barley

 

Beer

Mostly made using malted barley or malted wheat.

 

Biscuits

Most biscuits will contain offending flour or grains, opt for those labelled as gluten free. You can check out our range of gluten free cookies and biscuits here.

 

Bread

 

Breaded meats or vegetables

Or any other item coated in batter or breadcrumbs.

 

Brownies

Most will contain wheat flour but there are free from options available including our gluten free chocolate brownies.

 

Broth

See soup.

 

Brown rice syrup

Often made using barley enzymes, if fungal enzymes are used instead it can be gluten free.

 

Bulgur

Bulgur is a grain used in pilafs, soups, bakery goods, or as stuffing. Often a substitute for rice or couscous.

 

C

Cake

Opt for specifically free from brands that will be free of wheat flour and gluten containing flavourings. Our range of gluten free cakes is just as delicious and always growing!

 

Casserole

Wheat is often used as a thickening agent.

 

Cereal

Most are made using corn, wheat or oats. Even rice cereals will sometimes use malt flavouring which contains gluten.

 

Chewing gum

Some are sweetened with glucose syrup sourced from wheat.

 

Chocolate

Many chocolate bars will have added ingredients that contain gluten such as biscuit or wafer, but the chocolate itself may also contain gluten if cross contamination with wheat, barley or rye has occurred. Luckily at Lovemore we have several safe chocolate products like gluten free chocolate cake and our very popular gluten free chocolate brownies.

 

Cookies

Most cookies will contain offending flour or grains, opt for those labelled as gluten free. You can check out our range of gluten free cookies and biscuits here.

 

Couscous

 

Crackers

 

Crisps

 

Crab meat (Imitation)

See sushi.

 

Cracked wheat

Grains of wheat that have been crushed into small pieces.

 

Curry powder

See ground spices.

 

D

Deli meats

Deli meats themselves may not contain gluten, but they may be cross-contaminated by the slicer.

 

Doughnuts

 

Dry roasted nuts

Nuts are naturally gluten free but if flavouring is added this is likely to contain gluten.

 

Dumplings

 

Durum

Hard wheat grown in arid regions, often used to make pasta.

 

E

Egg substitute

Where eggs would be used to bind a recipe, wheat can be used as a replacement.

 

Einkorn

An ancient wheat.

 

Emmer

An ancient wheat.

 

Energy bars

Many will contain the grains and flavourings you are trying to avoid.

 

F

Farina

Popular hot breakfast cereal that is usually made from semolina.

 

Faro

Refers to several different types of wheat, including spelt and more ancient forms of the grain such as einkorn and emmer.

 

Flapjack

Most will contain offending grains but not to worry as we sell yummy gluten-free flapjacks!

 

Flavoured coffees

Plain coffee is gluten-free but be careful of flavourings and other additions e.g. chocolate toppings.

 

French fries

They should be gluten free but often the same fryer is used for other glutenous foods so there is a risk of contamination.

 

Fried food/tempura

Wheat flour often used in batter and breadcrumbs.

 

Fruit fillings

Flavourings can contain gluten.

 

Fu

A type of prepared wheat gluten common in asian foods.

 

G

Gravy

Commonly thickened with wheat flour or cornstarch.

 

Gliadin

Component of gluten, essential for giving bread the ability to rise properly during baking.

 

Graham flour

Wholewheat flour that has not been sifted

 

Ground spices

Can be adulterated with wheat flour or wheat starch to reduce cost.

 

H

Hot chocolate

Pure cocoa powder is gluten free, but drinking chocolate can contain wheat.

 

Hot dogs

See processed meats.

 

Hot drinks (instant)

See flavoured coffees.

 

I

Ice cream

Some are made with wheat flour, gluten content can vary depending on flavour and toppings.

 

Instant hot drinks

See flavoured coffees.

 

Imitation crab meat

See sushi.

 

Imitation bacon

See vegetarian meats.

 

K

Kamut

An ancient type of wheat.

 

L

Liquorice

Usually contains wheat flour.

 

M

Malt/Malt vinegar/Malt flavouring

Malt is a germinated cereal grain, usually barley, that's dried in a process known as malting.

 

Marinated meat

Although fresh meat is naturally gluten free, marinades may contain gluten ingredients.

 

Matzo

The flour for this flatbread must be ground from one of the five grains specified in Jewish law for Passover: wheat, barley, spelt, rye or oat.

 

Mayonnaise

Check labels for white or distilled vinegar, as well as thickeners, emulsifiers or stabilising agents.

 

Meatballs

Often use a wheat or starch to keep the meat together.

 

Meatloaf

Contains bread crumbs.

 

Miso

Some types can include grains including wheat, barley and rye.

 

Muffins

You guessed it - muffins are usually made using gluten-containing flours. Don’t stress, we’ve created these scrumptious gluten-free chocolate muffins.

 

Mustard

A few prepared mustards are made with either wheat flour or malt vinegar.

 

N

Noodles

For some noodles wheat flour is used, alternatives include rice noodles which are gluten free if no cross contamination has occurred.

 

O

Oats

Oats themselves don’t contain gluten, but are often processed in facilities that produce gluten-containing grains and may be contaminated.

 

Oatmeal

 

P

Pasta

 

Pastries

 

Pickles

Often pickled in malt vinegar.

 

Pie

All pastry has to be approached with caution, whether savoury or sweet. We’ve developed new free from recipes for classic pies, including gluten-free apple pies.

 

Pretzels

 

Processed cheese

Can contain artificial colours to improve their appearance and preservatives to increase shelf life, both of which can contain gluten.

 

Processed meat

Meats used for sausages, hot dogs, burgers and luncheon meats are often mixed with flour to hold it together.

 

R

Root beer

Caramel flavouring can contain gluten.

 

Rotisserie chicken

Loaded with added ingredients, seasoning, and preservatives that may contain gluten.

 

Rye

Member of the wheat family, closely related to barley and wheat.

 

S

Salad dressing

Sometimes contain wheat-based and starchy products as thickeners to create right texture.

 

Salami

See processed meats.

 

Sausages

See processed meats.

 

Sauces

wheat is often used as a thickening agent.

 

Seasonings

Always just the ingredients for flavourings, grains and starches.

 

Seitan

Many vegan or fake-meat products are made primarily of gluten and are often nicknamed ‘wheat meat’.

 

Semolina

Semolina is the purified wheat middlings of durum wheat, mainly used in making pasta and couscous.

 

Soup

Avoid soups with noodles, creamy soups and broths are also often thickened with wheat products.

 

Soy sauce

Made from fermented wheat.

 

Spelt

Another kind of wheat.

 

Stock cubes

Gluten often used as a binding agent to hold the cube together.

 

Sushi

Unless it's processed on contaminated equipment, all rice is gluten-free. However, sushi items like California rolls are made with imitation crab meat, which is an assortment of different sea foods mixed with starch.

 

Syrup

Typically made from wheat.

 

T

Taramasalata

Will often contain breadcrumbs.

 

Tarts

The pastry is very likely to contain wheat flour but fruit fillings can also have hidden traces of gluten. You needn’t miss out on your favourite pastry snack, check out our gluten-free jam tarts here.

 

Teriyaki sauce

Contains soy sauce and potentially other gluten-containing additives.

 

Triticale

A grain that’s a cross between wheat and rye.

 

V

Vegetables in sauce

All fresh fruit and veg is gluten free but watch out for veggies that have been prepared in a sauce as this may contain gluten.

 

Vegetarian meats

Many vegetarian-friendly meats use wheat products as binders.

 

Veggie burgers

See vegetarian meats.

 

Vodka

See alcohol.

 

W

Wasabi

Gluten free in its original form but is often served with mustard and colouring, both of which can contain gluten, and can also be mixed with corn starch or wheat flour.

 

Wheat bran

 

Wheat germ

 

Wheat starch

 

Worcestershire sauce

Made using malt vinegar.

 

Do you know of someone that could benefit from this list? Why not share it on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram?